Chairman MILO E. RIVERSO\*

Vice Chairmen LOUIS J. COLETTI\* RALPH J. ESPOSITO\* CARL GALIOTO\* MAUREEN A. HENEGAN\* CYRUS J. IZZO\* GREGORY A. KELLY\* HENRY KUYKENDALL\* GARY LaBARBERA\* JILL N. LERNER\* MITCHEL W. SIMPLER\*

President & CEO CARLO A. SCISSURA\*

Treasurer SABRINA KANNER \*

Secretary JOSEPH G. MIZZI\*

General Counsel MICHAEL S. ZETLIN\*

Past Chairman

RICHARD CAVALLARO\*

JOSEPH J. ALIOTTA FRANKLIN R. ALVARADO VINCENT ALVAREZ JAMES G. BACH AINE M. BRAZIL LYNNE P. BROWN PETER CAFIERO ANDREW CATAPANO VICTORIA J. CERAMI EDWIN CHRISTIAN CHERYL MCKISSACK DANIEL WILLIAM J. GILBANE III JOHN J. GILBERT III DAVID M. GREENBERG SHARON GREENBERGER SUSAN L. HAYES JOSEPH A. JENUSO ELI R. KHOURY MARIAN KLEIN FELDT CHRISTOPHER LARSEN GEORGE E. LEVENTIS JEFFREY E. LEVINE ANTHONY E. MANN ANTHONY MANNARINO PETER A. MARCHETTO CHRIS MCCARTIN RICHARD T. MONOPOLI CHARLES E. MURPHY MYSORE L. NAGARAJA TERRENCE E. O'NEAL RAYMOND M. POCINO TODD RECHLER FRANCES A. RESHESKE JONATHAN D. RESNICK\* LAWRENCE P. ROMAN MICHAEL F. RUSSO ACHAIBAR (DAN) L. SAWH SCOTT SELTZ VICKI MATCH SUNA MICHAEL J. SWEENEY ELISE WAGNER CHRISTOPHER O. WARD IRIS WEINSHALL ELI ZAMEK

\*Executive Committee Member

## DIRECTORS EMERITI

RICHARD T. ANDERSON RAYMOND P. DADDAZIO PETER L. DICAPUA JOHN M. DIONISIO MARY-JEAN EASTMAN PETER GOETZ STUART E. GRAHAM RICHARD SETH HAYDEN JOHN F. HENNESSY III THOMAS IOVINO LEEVI KIIL HERBERT K. KOENIG JEFFREY M. LEVY JOHN V. MAGLIANO WILLIAM A. MARINO GERARD A. NEUMANN ROBERT S. PECKAR THOMAS Z. SCARANGELLO ANTHONY P. SCHIRRIPA FRANK J. SCIAME ROBERT E. SELSAM DOMINICK M. SERVEDIO MARILYN JORDAN TAYLOR DANIEL R. TISHMAN RICHARD L. TOMASETTI



November 9, 2018

Majority Leader Mitch McConnell 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy 2421 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Minority Leader Chuck Schumer 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi 233 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Majority Leaders McConnell and McCarthy, and Minority Leaders Schumer and Pelosi:

On behalf of the New York Building Congress, I strongly encourage the 116th Congress to make infrastructure investment the top priority in the new year. A successful infrastructure package will encourage active participation among all levels of government and between the public and private sectors without shifting federal responsibilities.

The Building Congress is a nearly 100-year-old organization working to encourage the growth and success of the building industry and the vibrancy of New York and the country at large. Our broad-based membership coalition is composed of more than 550 constituent organizations in the design, construction and real estate industry, employing over a quarter million professionals and tradespeople.

Time and time again, the desperate state of our country's inadequate and deteriorating infrastructure has been discussed as a priority. Sadly, Americans have yet to see a comprehensive national infrastructure bill that will move us back to the forefront of the world. Now is the time for action and progress. As we enter a stage of bipartisanship, we must put politics aside and focus on something everyone can agree on: updating infrastructure across the United States.

The Building Congress believes that any path forward on this issue must increase direct federal investments in a broad range of infrastructure sectors over the next 10 years in order to achieve a \$1 trillion federal investment.

This initiative should complement and strengthen existing tools, such as municipal bonds, to successfully deliver infrastructure investments at the federal, state, and local levels. Legislation should also facilitate opportunities for private investment in U.S. infrastructure and create efficiencies by accelerating the federal permitting process. A successful infrastructure package will require bi-partisan compromises

Chairman MILO E. RIVERSO\*

Vice Chairmen LOUIS J. COLETTI\* RALPH J. ESPOSITO\* CARL GALIOTO\* MAUREEN A. HENEGAN\* CYRUS J. IZZO\* GREGORY A. KELLY\* HENRY KUYKENDALL\* GARY LaBARBERA\* JILL N. LERNER\*

President & CEO CARLO A. SCISSURA\*

MITCHEL W. SIMPLER\*

Treasurer SABRINA KANNER \*

Secretary JOSEPH G. MIZZI\*

**General Counsel** MICHAEL S. ZETLIN\*

Past Chairman RICHARD CAVALLARO\*

JOSEPH J. ALIOTTA FRANKLIN R. ALVARADO VINCENT ALVAREZ JAMES G. BACH AINE M. BRAZIL LYNNE P. BROWN PETER CAFIERO ANDREW CATAPANO VICTORIA J. CERAMI EDWIN CHRISTIAN CHERYL MCKISSACK DANIEL WILLIAM J. GILBANE III JOHN J. GILBERT III DAVID M. GREENBERG SHARON GREENBERGER SUSAN L. HAYES JOSEPH A. JENUSO ELI R. KHOURY MARIAN KLEIN FELDT CHRISTOPHER LARSEN GEORGE E. LEVENTIS JEFFREY E. LEVINE ANTHONY E. MANN ANTHONY MANNARINO PETER A. MARCHETTO CHRIS MCCARTIN RICHARD T. MONOPOLI CHARLES F. MURPHY MYSORE L. NAGARAJA TERRENCE E. O'NEAL RAYMOND M. POCINO TODD RECHLER FRANCES A. RESHESKE JONATHAN D. RESNICK\* LAWRENCE P. ROMAN MICHAEL F. RUSSO ACHAIBAR (DAN) L. SAWH SCOTT SELTZ VICKI MATCH SUNA MICHAEL J. SWEENEY ELISE WAGNER CHRISTOPHER O. WARD IRIS WEINSHALL ELI ZAMEK

\*Executive Committee Member

DIRECTORS EMERITI

RICHARD T. ANDERSON RAYMOND P. DADDAZIO PETER L. DICAPUA JOHN M. DIONISIO MARY-JEAN EASTMAN PETER GOETZ STUART E. GRAHAM RICHARD SETH HAYDEN JOHN F. HENNESSY III THOMAS IOVINO LEEVI KIIL HERBERT K. KOENIG JEFFREY M. LEVY JOHN V. MAGLIANO WILLIAM A. MARINO GERARD A. NEUMANN ROBERT S. PECKAR THOMAS Z. SCARANGELLO ANTHONY P. SCHIRRIPA FRANK J. SCIAME ROBERT E. SELSAM DOMINICK M. SERVEDIO MARILYN JORDAN TAYLOR DANIEL R. TISHMAN RICHARD L. TOMASETTI



and a renewed commitment by the federal government to provide the foundational support necessary to bring American infrastructure into the 21st century.

The Building Congress believes that it will be vital to fix chronic challenges and address recurrent shortages in key federal infrastructure accounts such as the Highway Trust Fund. In order to do this, Congress must seriously consider a long-needed increase in the federal gas tax to provide the HTF with a source of significant growth.

No single agency can deliver a well-functioning national U.S. infrastructure system alone. A cooperative network driven by a long-term vision and stable funding will be required.

We here at the Building Congress are ready to assist to make America's infrastructure goals a reality.

Very Truly Yours,

Carlo A. Scissura, Esq. President and CEO

New York Building Congress